The Proust Questionnaire

In lieu of writing something, I wanted to fill out an adaptation to The Proust Questionnaire. It’s a personality questionnaire, and it’s interesting to fill out at different times of the year, or your life, then to go back and see how you’ve evolved. Fill it out in the comments if you’d like!

What is your current state of mind?

Exhausted from juggling so many things, but excited that a) they’re almost over, and b) they’re going relatively well.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Lying on a blanket on the beach at nightfall, looking at the stars, listening to the ocean, with the person I love next to me.

What is your greatest fear?

Dying without finishing my bucket list, or not being missed.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?

Not so much a historical figure, but a great character – Hannibal Lector. Kind of creepy, I know, but it’s his personality that I identify with, but whom I admire more. He’s a fascinating individual, so charming and romantic, but also exceedingly dangerous. In addition, he only killed those he felt the world would be better off without – those rude, opportunistic, oafish creatures that we all wish would go away anyway.

Which living person do you most admire?

Amada Palmer. She is sublime in her individuality. I’ve been in love with her work since I was 15.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Perfectionism. It’s taken a long time to figure out that I can’t control everything.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?

People who refuse to correct ignorance in themselves and others. Education is key, and we could all use a little reality check now and again.

What is it that you most dislike?

People who either refuse or lack the ability to try to see the point of view from someone other than themselves.

What is your greatest extravagance?

Driving my Lincoln Town Car.

What do you most value in your friends?

Appreciating themselves for who they are, and showing me the same courtesy.

What is your favorite journey?

Taking the subway to the first classes of the semester.

What is your most treasured possession?

A necklace that was my grandmother’s. I’d grab it in a fire.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Political correctness… we’ve lost our sense of humor.

On what occasion do you lie?

During the times in which I truly want to be alone when I can’t be.

Which living person do you most despise?


Any person that tries to legislate someone else’s happiness. You have rights, don’t try to take them away from someone else.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

I’m currently with him. But also Alex from A Clockwork Orange.

When and where were you happiest?

When I stopped worrying so much about what other people think and started doing things for myself.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

That I lack the ability to teleport.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Independence.

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?

They wouldn’t be so afraid to talk to each other about stuff that really matters.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

The PTSD caused by the Bush administration.

What is your favorite occupation?

Anything in which I can see what I’ve done after I’ve completed it.

What is your most marked characteristic?

Empathy. Or my hair… its big and red.

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?

Raskolnikov. Victor Mancini. A combination of the two.

How would you like to die?

Unexpectedly, when I’m very old, doing something incredibly rad like surfing an impossibly high wave.

What is your motto?

Be yourself, really listen to others, and screw the close-minded ones.

OPR

One thought on “The Proust Questionnaire

Leave a Reply

